Update: Pacific Cod and Purple Broccoli

not a great pic, but I was too impatient to eat!

Since I didn’t actually provide a fish recipe in my post on sustainable seafood, I thought I would just throw in a quick update here. This weekend we had a great time making and decorating Christmas cookies, but I made a light meal of broiled cod, purple broccoli with the lemon oil from my last post, and salad to counteract the sugar intake for the cookie makers/eaters. I was especially excited to find purple and yellow broccoli from a local producer at the market that day.

purple broc + a break

For the cod, all I did was marinate it in a mixture of olive oil and lemon juice for 10 minutes, then broil for about 4 minutes per side. I added salt and pepper to taste with lots of fresh parsley and grated ginger. Pour the lemon olive oil dressing on top and bingo! I’m still experimenting with cooking fish, because being from the Midwest doesn’t give me a lot of sea-knowlege. Good thing I’ve ordered this cookbook. What’s your favorite way to prepare fish?

Happy Monday everyone! Hope you have a great week ~

cookies! compliments of L & A

7 thoughts on “Update: Pacific Cod and Purple Broccoli

  1. I LOVE the Totoro Xmas cookie!!! Did you make it up or did you have a mold. BTW, I’m going to broil some cod this week now; sounds delicious (no purple broccoli here though…..).

  2. I don’t eat fish too often but If I do prepare it…I usually pan fry it (steaming it is also nice) and with green pepper, onions, tomato, and a little salt and pepper as my means of adding a little extra flavor 🙂

    • I’ve been eating more fish since I’ve had access to better quality fish here in Japan. Broiled fish is very easy and quick when you don’t feel like cooking or you are super busy – in law school for instance!

    • thanks! I realize I was a little overzealous and tried to cover many many subjects all at once. I’ll be breaking it down further throughout the year. I’m flattered you think it is bookmark worthy! Thanks for stopping by

Leave a comment