Green Tip #11: Add tea to your floors

This week, not for the first time, but for the first time intentionally – I upended a beverage all over my floor. My consistent penchant for knocking over all sorts of beverages – infused water, tea, carbonated water, what have you – has left my 30 year old wood floors looking rather, ahem, aged. So when I saw a random old calendar tip for cleaning your floors with tea? I thought, hey, I’ve already DONE this!

Of course, cleaning implies something a little more uniform that the panicked soaking that usually happens while I’m on the computer, writing letters, or doing some other activity that should not include a beverage. The calendar was disappointingly vague on what kind of tea to use – black, green, yerba mate? I mean, c’mon, the choices are endless. I personally prefer drinking rooibos, but who’s to say that won’t turn my floor green or something.

Wood floors make me nervous. I know there are all sorts of ways you should or should not take care of them. But my apartment building is about 40 years old, and the floors are not shabby chic or rustically beautiful or anything like that. So I thought I’d give it a shot. If you have newer, nicer floors, you might want to do a little research or do some unobtrusive spot tests before you go all out with tea cleaner.

oh boy

The DIY network website gave me some great tips on what to do, but it wasn’t until I went to eHow that I learned that you should only use black tea. Guess I get to save the rooibos for myself – insert self-satisfied snicker here.

But the BEST part of this process? No clean up! You don’t have to mop up or dry the floor after you add the tea solution. I’m a really big fan of this – just let it air dry. However, if it is really muggy like it’s been here, this might take a long time.

black tea love

From the article, “Tips for Cleaning Tile, Wood, and Vinyl Floors” on the DIY Network:

Use boiling water and two [black] teabags to clean hardwood floors. The tannic acid in tea creates a beautiful shine for hardwood floors. Let two teabags steep in the boiling water for a few minutes. Pour the tea into a bucket. Take a soft cloth and wring it out in the tea. The cloth merely needs to be damp, not soaked. This will enable the floor to dry quickly. Wash the floor and be ready to be amazed by the sheen.

Ehow adds a few more sensible cautions, such as allowing the tea to cool to room temperature.

So what do you think? Tea to the rescue?!

***

I’m pleased to announce the winner of Tuesday’s giveaway of Tropical Traditions coconut oil– Kelli! Guys, this stuff is MAGIC, so I encourage you to pick some up even if you didn’t win. It is a worthy investment. While I’m in Japan, I also order Nutiva’s brand of coconut oil off iHerb. Remember you can get a discount if you use my code, KUH294, and it helps keep this blog up and running, so I really appreciate all your support!

Use coconut oil in:

Uncool Fudge

Blueberry Pudding Cake

Frazzled Scallops & Mushrooms

Traveler’s Chicken

Sumo Carrot Cake Note: use coconut oil instead of grapeseed oil here

When Roasting sweet potatoes, for use in Sweet Potato Puddin’ Spread

Stuffed Kabocha Squash

International Breakfast Hash

3 thoughts on “Green Tip #11: Add tea to your floors

Leave a Reply

